img_20170217_124444_271

If there is one thing I love more than tacos, it’s Ceviche!  Every time I go down to Ensenada I have to get a Ceviche Tostada from La Guerrerense. They are always so fresh, bright and have the perfect acidity.  Since I am currently on an adventure of weight-loss, trips to Ensenada are not in the cards.  Soon enough though.

I guess that leaves me to make Ceviche at home!  I’m skipping the Tostada with this one and am just going to have a nice plate Shrimp Ceviche. It’s low calorie, low fat and high in protein.

Shrimp Ceviche Carpaccio

4 ea      Shrimp 13/15 ct, peeled & deveined

1 ea       Lime

1 ea       Chile (Jalapeño, Serrano, Hungarian etc), finely chopped

1 ea        Red Onion, thinly sliced

Salt

Hot Sauce (optional)

Olive Oil (optional)

  1. Butterfly your shrimp, cutting in half if you choose
  2. Place a piece of cling wrap over the shrimp & lightly pound them out until they are fairly thin.  Place the shrimp on a plate without overlapping.
  3. Zest the lime and save for later, then squeeze 1/2 the lime over your shrimp. Reserve the remainder of the lime juice for serving.  Sprinkle with 1tsp of sea salt.  Put your shrimp in the fridge for 30 min.  In the meantime,
  4. Finely chop your chiles, use as little or as much as you like.  Thinly slice your red onions and set these aside
  5. Remove shrimp from the fridge. The shrimp should be opaque and look cooked.  Add the shrimp & remaining ingredients to a new plate or bowl, drizzle with a little EVOO and Hot sauce if you like.

Enjoy. I did!

Thanks

Joshua

